From the office of Congressman Todd Akin

Congressman Todd Akin, Representing the 2nd District of Missoure, Skip Navigation Links

Dear SpikeStL,

Thank you for contacting me regarding your concerns about the direction of our country. It was good to hear from you and I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

As you may know, my philosophy of government is characterized by the Federalist principles that support our democratic republic. Our founders designed a system that is simple yet at the same time, complex. Our government is simple enough that any citizen can participate in their government yet it is guarded by complex checks and balances so that no one faction can hold too much power. It is essential to safeguard these checks and balances. The President and courts should not be making laws nor should Congress delegate its law-making powers to federal bureaucracies.  Nor should the federal government grab powers that the Constitution reserves to the states and the people. 

In recent decades we have seen these checks and balances erode. Today, the federal government is usurping more authority that belongs to the Missouri General Assembly by imposing unfunded mandates on states and localities. Increasingly, Washington is also trying to micromanage businesses and families.  So far this Congress, we have heard plans for universal health care and a national energy tax. Since January, the national debt has risen as domestic spending reaches unprecedented levels. The President has also cut our missile defense budget at a time when our nation is vulnerable to enemy attacks.

Increased spending is also accompanied by massive tax increases. And, as former Supreme Court Chief Justice John Marshall once noted, the power to tax involves the power to destroy.

Today, I am more concerned than ever before for the future of our nation and I have redoubled my efforts to educate the American public about the reckless spending going on in Washington, D.C.

It is a privilege to represent you and I hope that you will not hesitate to contact me regarding any matter where I might be of assistance. Please visit my website, where you can find more information on current issues, share further thoughts with me via email and subscribe to my e-newsletter for updates on issues you care about. You can also check out my channel on YouTube for clips of recent floor speeches.
Sincerely,

W. Todd Akin
Member of Congress

One Response to “From the office of Congressman Todd Akin”

  1. Norman LeDonne Says:

    Congressman Akin,

    I am not in your district (or even your state). However, your message is THE most refreshing comment that I’ve heard from an elected official in a long time. What can I do to get others like you (with whom I agree 100%) elected?

    Sincerely
    Norman LeDonne

Leave a Reply

